A moment I won’t forget

A decorative concrete sunscreen
Figures strongly in my mind
A double repeating pattern
As I lay in the upper bunk
My daddy was an army man
I lived in Asmara Ethiopia
We vacationed in Massawa
On the Red Sea
We swam with the wildlife
Were rowed out to Green Island
To walk the sandy beach
Picnicking under the trees.
Strongly I remember that sunscreen
Feeling the breeze as I listened
To the adults laughing and talking
It makes me smile

Massawa Beach lat=15.6083575063, lon=39.4696326713

Green Island lat=15.593598181, lon=39.4781900557

A work in progress

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers

